Answer: To become a West Virginia high school teacher, you must earn your professional teaching certificate through the state. This requires earning a bachelor’s degree and completing a teacher preparation program. You must also pass the required Praxis exams and a background check.
How do I renew my expired WV license?
Teaching Certification Renewal
- Complete six semester hours of coursework toward a master’s degree in a program related to the public school (college recommendation required)
- Complete six semester hours of coursework related to the improvement of instructions and to your current endorsement area.
What does it take to be a substitute teacher in WV?
Hold a bachelor’s degree (or higher) from an accredited institution. Have a minimum 2.0 GPA. Applicants seeking short-term licensure must have an overall GPA of at least 2.0. Those seeking long-term licensure must have at least a 2.0 GPA in each endorsement area.
How long is your initial substitute permit valid in WV?
You will also need to complete any paperwork required by the county. Completion of the course does not guarantee employment. Your initial license is valid for 3 years and will expire on June 30 of the third year.
How much do subs make in WV?
Substitute Teacher Salary in West Virginia
|Annual Salary||Hourly Wage|
What states accept a West Virginia teaching license?
West Virginia Teacher Reciprocity Agreements
How long is a WV teaching license good for?
After five-year licenses expire, teachers have the option of applying for a Permanent Teaching Certificate if they meet certain requirements. Candidates must: Hold a five-year Professional Teaching Certificate. Hold a master’s degree related to a public school program.
How do you become a principal in WV?
In order to considered for administrative certification in West Virginia, candidates must receive a score of at least 141 on the PRAXIS Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision exam. Additionally, all license seekers must pass the PRAXIS I Pre-Professional Skills Test in reading, mathematics, and writing.
What are the requirements for a long term substitute permit in West Virginia?
Analysis of West Virginia’s policies
Both permits require a bachelor’s degree, a 2.0 GPA, 18 hours of in-service training and a superintendent’s recommendation. The Long-Term Substitute permit also requires 12 hours of coursework in any specialization area.
Can substitute teachers get unemployment in WV?
Substitute school employees typically are not eligible for unemployment compensation during breaks throughout the school year (Thanksgiving break, Christmas break, Spring break, etc.) since they have a reasonable assurance to return to work upon completion of the break.
How do you get a substitute teaching license?
How to Obtain a 30-Day Substitute Teaching Permit
- Official Transcripts Showing Your Bachelor’s Degree or Higher. Official transcripts must be from a regionally accredited college or university and must have your degree posted.
- Basic Skills Requirement.
- Appropriate Fingerprinting.
- Temporary County Certificate Form.
How can I be a substitute teacher?
How to Become a Substitute Teacher
- Earn a bachelor’s degree.
- Apply for a substitute teaching license, if required in your state.
- Take the tests required for substitute teacher licensure, if necessary.
- Once you are licensed, apply to your local school district’s substitute teacher pool.
What is WV virtual school?
West Virginia Virtual Academy (WVVA) is a tuition-free online public school serving grades K–12. * We’re dedicated to inspiring and empowering students through an education experience tailored to each child’s needs.
How do I become a substitute teacher in Oregon?
Hold a bachelor’s degree (or higher) from an accredited institution. Complete an approved teacher preparation program* or hold a valid license issued by another state within the endorsement area. Successfully complete CBEST or PPST exam(s) or verify completion of a doctorate degree from an accredited institution.
How much do substitute teachers make in WV per day?
Most common benefits
The average salary for a substitute teacher is $147 per day in West Virginia. 14 salaries reported, updated at March 11, 2022.
Do substitute teachers get benefits in WV?
Substitute teachers in West Virginia who work more than 90 days may qualify for benefits such as health insurance.
What states do teachers make the most money?
Highest pay for teachers by state
- Washington, D.C.: $81,030.
- New York: $76,390.
- Massachusetts: $75,040.
- Maryland: $72,040.
- Rhode Island: $70,280.
- California: $70,170.
- Connecticut: $69,240.
- Nevada: $68,160.
Can I teach in Washington with a California credential?
The state of Washington now accepts verification of credentials and completion of accredited teacher preparation programs from out-of-state as a means toward qualifying for teacher certification in Washington.
Can I use my California teaching credential in other states?
Since California is a participating state in the agreement, persons with valid credentials from California are eligible to request a transfer of those credentials to a receiving state.
How do I become a special education teacher in WV?
Individuals seeking an alternative route to teaching special education in West Virginia must have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution and demonstrate subject mastery in the core subject area in which they wish to teach.
How do I become an art teacher in WV?
How do I become an art teacher in WV?
- Complete a Bachelor Degree and Teacher Prep Program. The first step to becoming an art teacher in West Virginia is enroll in an approved teacher prep program.
- Step 2: Apply for Certification.
- Maintain and Upgrade your West Virginia Teaching License.
Can you teach in WV without a teaching degree?
All candidates for alternative teacher licensure in West Virginia must have at least a bachelor’s degree, and must also typically pass the same exams as traditional-pathway educators.
What was the average salary for a public school teacher in Virginia during 2019 2020?
Teacher pay in Virginia averaged $57,665 for the 2019-2020 school year, the 26th highest rank among the 50 states and the District of Columbia, according to data released last month by the National Education Association (NEA).